Hi PSU Readers,
On Friday last week PSU.com was compromised by a hacker who installed some bad software on our server. As soon as we were altered, we immediately traced how they got in and closed the security hole. We then changed passwords, reinstalled the OS and performed a full code audit to prevent it happening again. The site is now fully clean and running as it should be.
Unfortunately during this time, the website was anonymously reported to stopbadware.org and Google, who placed a warning notice on PSU.com that visitors using Firefox 3 are forced to see before they can reach the website (as well as a label next to our site in the search results).
In order to resolve this we have sent a request to both StopBadware.org and Google.com and we have been confirmed to be in the queue awaiting review. They have checked out the site themselves and have confirmed the issues are gone. We do not know, however, how long it will take before they can lift this label, but hopefully it will be soon.
As regular visitors will know we work really hard here (see Dave's non-stop live blogging during E3) and it's a great shame that as a legitimate site we were penalized like this even after resolving the issues immediately.
We would like to extend our sincere apologies to anyone inconvenienced by this. We'd also like to reassure everyone that we are now devoting even more resources to anti-hack measures, so you can feel confident you are browsing a trustworthy, secure website.
Thank you for your understanding.
Best regards,
Seb, Kieran and the whole PSU team.

yer i got threat messages i just healed or moved to vault and destroyed. also as programmer i thought id see were coming from so i sent the same virus back to orignal guys computer. lol just joking glad u fixed tho cus it has happened before
I just recieved an alert from adaware when trying to access the site the other day but Im glad everythings back to normal now because this is a great site!
Stupid hackers... stick to your PSPs!
"Unfortunately during this time, the website was anonymously reported to stopbadware.org and Google, who placed a warning notice on PSU.com that visitors using Firefox 3 are forced to see before they can reach the website" -
well actually you cant wiev this page at all with FF the alert message popps up everywhere
At lease you had the decency to let us know this time, because this isn't the first time it has happened.
I got the Google warning and later scanned with my Norman Anti-virus and found a trojan. Oh well, I'm one of those who's actually willing to buy anti-virus so it really doesn't matter to me. =)
And I also run Ubuntu on my 2nd harddisk so viruses here have no effect either, muahaahaa!
Doesnt really matter to me since I have been using Ubuntu. The chances of getting something from this site to my computer is slim at best
It said malious software or something but great job getting it back up love the sight!!!
I got that message when I went here. I just went into my options on FF 3 and disabled it so I can see the site now.
Its not ironic.. Its what happened, You sir need to learn the definition of Irony.
3rd Ubuntu. ;) No viruses.
psn id: gingo... yea i saw this and thought WTF but i just turned off the thing that tells you that it is a reported site and it let me in
seriously what is the point of hacking psu, some people have no lives what so ever, they should be watching batman tdk, or play their ps3's not wasting their time hacking psu
i just ignored the warnings :P
this site dosen't deserve this crap!
Probibly Microsoft trying to slow down ps3 es info.
Also running Ubuntu! Never going back to Windows or any other M$ software for that matter.
no matter what happend i still think this is one of the best and most helpful sites on the web
and the hacker was probally some dumb a ss no good 360 fan lol
im back on here. I have missed thee so.
The site is back in the green
yay the site workes again.
Don't worry, you guys did a great job!
I'm just glad things were fixed. I don't know why this site keeps being attacked like this but it sounds fishy.
its fixed :D
i ignored the warning, just like i ignored xbox s*t 360.
What exactly was the payload? I need to check see if any lingering issues affect my system
nice to see the site back online and clean...
PSN: yungder
Good job getting everything up and running so quickly. Good thing too, this is the only site my office hasn't caught onto (most other sites are blocked) so I can still get my PS3 fix when I need it.
To begin with I love the PSU site and visit it daily. It contains a great source of PS3 information.
Even legitimate sites can be compromised though and deserve to be shown as a warning if their site is compromised. How much work is put into a site does not equate to the security level of the site if that is not where the work is spent. This site was compromised and spreading malware(and who knows what). Firefox3 alerts us to it so to avoid the site(I run linux but still appreciate the warnings). So far things worked preciesely how they should. It might take some time to verify the clean state and hopefully that can improve but the compromise shouldn't of happened to begin with.
With that aside I am glad the site is verified clean again. I need my psu injection in the mornings. Congrats on getting to the bottom of the incedent and cleaning it up.
for some reason it is still shown as an attacked site on firefox. lukily i'm viewing the site through safari
Good job guys PSU.com working perfect in my FF 3.0 now :D..did take a few days, good job just remember to keep backing up your Web Site and MySQL database's these hackers are so annoying, make sure things are up to date to but good work :).
Glad to know everything's back to normal, I've been avoiding the site the last couple days after seeing the alert in Firefox 3. And as of right now, Firefox 3 is no longer popping up an alert.
Yea... I was wondering what happened. Threat report on PSU!?!?!?! WTF!!! Glad to see it was cleared up